## Northern Labour Market Committee meeting procedures related to Motions:

## Motions need to be made in the context of the mandate date of the NLMC:

- Identify labour market, training, and economic development issues emerging in northern Saskatchewan
- Prioritize and address these issues by initiating action and results-oriented special projects through the subcommittees.
- Coordinate and facilitate cooperative planning and actions among agencies to avoid duplication and maximize funding and training opportunities.
- Facilitate collaboration among northern training agencies, training funders, economic development agencies, and other stakeholders by providing a forum in which to exchange information.

When appropriate motions will be referred to subcommittee for further consideration and action.

If written communications is warranted as a result of the motion the Admin Subcommittee will generate the communications on behalf of all subcommittees.

## Proper sequence of steps in having a motion voted on:

A motion has nine steps:

- 1. Moved a proposal from the floor.
- 2. Seconded another member feels the proposal is worth discussing.
- 3. Stated by the chair or secretary. Wording is recorded properly and everyone understands the intent of the proposal.
- 4. Discussed every speaker addresses the chair and must speak only to the motion. Usually, each member may speak only once to a motion except the mover who has first and last chance to speak.
- 5. Amended changing the wording of the motion by: adding or deleting words, replacing with different words. Each amendment has the same 9 steps as a motion.
- Called after sufficient discussion, either a motion to end debate or a vote is called at the discretion of the chair.
- 7. Restated ensures everyone understands what is being voted on.
- 8. Voted chair calls each option: "All in favour?", "Opposed?" or "Abstaining?"
- 9. Declared results of the vote are announced by the chair.

List of eligible motion makers, seconders and voters:	
List of Training Delivery and Funding Agencies	Representatives
Northlands College	Toby Greschner
Saskatchewan Indian Institute of Technologies	Guy Poncelet
First Nations University of Canada/Northern	Grace McLeod
Campus	
NORTEP/PAC	Ray Smith
SIAST	
Service Canada	Bill Powalinsk
Ministry of the Economy – Labour Market	Jan Morgan and Carol-ann Decker
Services Branch	
Saskatchewan Apprenticeship and Trade	Dawn Stanger
Certification Commission	
Gabriel Dumont Institute Training and	Sheena Daigneault
Employment	
Dumont Technical Institute - DTI	Tony Blacklock
Meadow Lake Tribal Council	Sharon Corrigal, Mervin McIntyre, Gordon Iron
Prince Albert Grand Council	Joan MacDonald Strong
Woodland Cree Enterprises	Lorraine Parada
List of Education Agencies	NLMC Representative
Ministry of Education, Northern Region	Daryl Arnott
Northern Lights School Division	
Ile a la Cross School Division	Alex Laliberte
Creighton School Division	Robert Bratvold
Meadow Lake Tribal Council	Judy Okanee,
Prince Albert Grand Council	Edward Mirasty/Keith Frame
Credenza Virtual High School and College	Vince Hill
List of Economic Development agencies	NLMC Representative
Athabasca Enterprise Region	Bill Nosen/Glen Strong
Visions North Community Futures	Bill Hogan
Beaver River Community Futures	Ross MacLeod/Patti Shaw
Meadow Lake Tribal Council	Gordon Iron
Prince Albert Grand Council	Johnny Walker
I THICE AIDER GIANU COUNCIL	John Hy Walker
List of northern training/employment partnerships, Committees, or Subcommittees	Chairpersons (Managers/Coordinators)
Northern Career Quest Inc. (ASEP)	Gary Merasty (Steve Innes)
Northern Labour Market Committee	Darcy Smycniuk, Lorraine Parada, Darwin Roy
Administration Subcommittee	Carol-ann Decker
Athabasca Subcommittee	Bill Nosen

Career Services Subcommittee	Clarence Neault and Sylvia Harris
Education and Training Subcommittee	Ray Smith and Joe Daigneault
Gary Tinker Federation Subcommittee	Mike Taylor
Health Sector Training Subcommittee	Toby Greschner
Mineral Sector Steering Committee	Russel Mercredi & Connie Mercredi (Ordean
	Goulet)
Northern Apprenticeship Committee	Al Loke & Marylyn Scot (Sylvia Harris and
	Brett Haugen)
Economic Development Subcommittee	Inactive
Traditional Economies Subcommittee	Inactive
Forestry Training Subcommittee	Inactive
New North Youth Councils	Inactive